Submit a news tip

2019 World Video Game Hall of Fame finalists announced

Posted on March 21, 2019 by (@NE_Brian) in General Nintendo, News

The Strong’s World Video Game Hall of Fame today announced the twelve finalists for induction. Nintendo has solid representation once again this year with Super Mario Kart and Super Smash Bros. Melee.

The full lineup is as follows:

– Candy Crush
– Centipede
– Colossal Cave Adventure
– Dance Dance Revolution
– Half-Life
– Microsoft Windows Solitaire
– Mortal Kombat
– Myst
– NBA 2K
– Sid Meier’s Civilization
– Super Mario Kart
– Super Smash Bros. Melee

The World Video Game Hall of Fame received thousands of nominations from more than 100 countries for consideration for the 2019 class. Fans can vote for their favorite finalists between March 21 and March 28 as part of a “Player’s Choice” ballot here. The top three will form one ballot and will join the 27 other ballots submitted by members of the International Selection Advisory Committee, which is made up of journalists and scholars familiar with the history of video games and their role in society.

The 2019 inductees for the World Video Game Hall of Fame will be announced during a special ceremony at The Strong museum on May 2 at 10:30 AM ET.

Leave a Reply

Manage Cookie Settings