Submit a news tip

Famitsu Award 2017 winners announced

Posted on April 27, 2018 by (@NE_Brian) in 3DS, News, Switch

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

During a ceremony earlier today, the Famitsu Award 2017 winners were announced. Fans were able to vote on the various categories based on titles released between January 1, 2017 and December 31, 2017.

Zelda: Breath of the Wild earned top honors, winning Game of the Year alongside Dragon Quest XI. Producer Eiji Aonuma and director Hidemaro Fujibayashi were present at the event. Switch was also recognized for its innovation and impact on the industry.

We have the full lineup of winners below.

Game of the Year

– The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (Nintendo)
– Dragon Quest XI (Square Enix)

Excellence Prize

– Super Mario Odyssey (Nintendo)
– Splatoon 2 (Nintendo)
– Xenoblade Chronicles 2 (Nintendo)
– The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild (Nintendo)
– The Great Ace Attorney 2 (Capcom)
– Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp (Nintendo)
– Dragon Quest XI (Square Enix)
– NieR: Automata (Square Enix)
– Danganronpa V3: Killing Harmony (Spike Chunsoft)
– Resident Evil 7 (Capcom)
– Fate/Grand Order (FGO Project)
– PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds (PUBG Corporation)
– Pokemon Ultra Sun/Ultra Moon (Nintendo)
– Monster Strike (Mixi)

Rookie Award

– Nioh (Koei Tecmo)
– PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds (PUBG Corporation)
– Horizon Zero Dawn (Sony)

Favorite App Award

– LINE: Disney Tsum Tsum (LINE)

Special Award

– Undertale (Hachinoyon)
– Nintendo Switch (Nintendo)

Best Character Award

– Link (Nintendo)

Best Game Maker Award

– Square Enix

MVP Award

– Yuji Horii (Armor Project)



Leave a Reply

Manage Cookie Settings