Submit a news tip

Famitsu Award 2018 winners announced – Smash Bros. wins Game of the Year, Sakurai named MVP, more

Posted on April 5, 2019 by (@NE_Brian) in General Nintendo, News, Switch

The Famitsu Award 2018 ceremony was held tonight in Japan, and it was filled with plenty of Nintendo-related winners. The big news is that Super Smash Bros. Ultimate won Game of the Year alongside Monster Hunter: World. Masahiro Sakurai, who directed the game, also secured an “MVP” award.

Here’s the full lineup of winners:

Game of the Year

– Monster Hunter: World (Capcom)
– Super Smash Bros. Ultimate (Nintendo)

Excellence Prize

– Octopath Traveler (Square Enix)
– God of War (Sony)
– Judgment (SEGA)
– Super Smash Bros. Ultimate (Nintendo)
– Detroit: Become Human (Sony)
– Dragon Quest Builders 2 (Square Enix)
– Fate/Grand Order (FGO Project)
– Fortnite (Epic Games)
– Pokemon: Let’s Go, Pikachu / Eevee (The Pokemon Company / Nintendo)
– Marvel’s Spider-Man (Sony)
– Monster Hunter: World (Capcom)
– Red Dead Redemption 2 (Rockstar Games)

Rookie Award

– Octopath Traveler (Square Enix)
– Detroit: Become Human (Sony)

Favorite App Award

– LINE: Disney Tsum Tsum (LINE)

Special Award

– Astro Bot: Rescue Mission (Sony)

Best Character Award

– Kirby (Kirby series)

Best Game Music Award

– Octopath Traveler (Square Enix)

Best Game Maker Award

– Capcom

MVP Award

– Masahiro Sakurai (Sora)

The entire presentation was naturally held in Japanese, but if you’d like to see what the event was all about, you can watch a complete recording below.

Leave a Reply

Manage Cookie Settings