Submit a news tip

Shin Megami Tensei V details Miman, Abscess, difficulty settings, more

Posted on October 4, 2021 by (@NE_Brian) in News, Screenshots, Switch

shin megami tensei v difficulty

Atlus has shared a new batch of details and screenshots for Shin Megami Tensei V for characters, demons, Da’at, and various systems like Miman, quests, and difficulty settings. Much of this was covered in the latest video report

Here’s the full rundown:


The protagonist must cooperate with Bethel’s Tokyo Branch to protect the city, however, demons representing Bethel Branches of various countries appear in front of him. How will their intersecting ambitions and goals affect the fate of Tokyo and the protagonist…?

Bethel Egypt: Khonsu (CV: Nobuyuki Hiyama)

Bethel India: Vasuki (CV: Fuminori Komatsu)

Bethel Greece Zeus (CV: Subaru Kimura)

Bethel North Europe Odin (CV: Atsushi Miyauchi)

Nuwa (CV: Ayana Taketatsu) the demon, works alongside Yakumo. She unleashes a portion of her power to attack the protagonist. Will she be an enemy, or…?


While exploring Da’at, you will encounter over 200 types of demons. Aside from the classics, several new demons will appear, designed by character designer Masayuki Doi.

  • Megami – Idun
  • Kunitsu – Sukuna-Hikona
  • Fallen – Adramelech
  • Drake – Aitvaras
  • Jirae – Kaya-no-Hime
  • Tyrant – Mara
  • Tyrant – Amon


The protagonist will explore Da’at: an alternate, post-apocalyptic Tokyo. An expansive world, its terrain will change drastically depending on the area. The enemies and challenges of traversal will vary as well, so be sure to explore every corner.

Cadaver’s Hallow

By accessing leylines, which allow you to save at various locations within Da’at, you can also visit Cadaver’s Hollow. By speaking to its owner Gustave, you can purchase and sell items you find in Da’at.

Find the Miman

Miman are Gustave’s pawns scattered throughout Da’at. By finding them and reporting back to him, you’ll receive rewards relative to the number you find. You can also obtain Glory, which you can spend to acquire powerful abilities called Miracles. Be sure to keep an eye out.

Da’at is filled with many hidden secrets and opportunities. Knowing these will aid you in your exploration and battles, adding an extra layer of fun traversing its expansive terrains.

Vending Machines & Relics

You can find relics at vending machines scattered throughout Da’at. By bringing them to Gustave, you can exchange them for Macca.

Treasure Boxes & Amalgams

Yellow objects include Essences, items, and Macca, while silver ones– called Amalgams– include Glory. Both are integral in your journey, so be sure to find them.


You’ll be blessed with several benefits by collecting Magatsuhi throughout Da’at. Green heals HP, yellow heals MP, and red raises your Magatsuhi Gauge during battles.

Demon Statues

Sometimes, you’ll come across large statues of demons. They are said to be remnants of a war that took place over a decade ago. Touching them will increase allies’ levels.


These rare demons don’t spawn often, but when you defeat them, you obtain items convertible to Macca, EXP, and Glory.


Occasionally, these mysterious red structures will block your path. Called Abscesses, they’re accompanied by powerful enemies lurking nearby, which will attack you. Destroying an Abscess will not only clear your path, but bestow you with Glory, which you can spend to master new Miracles.

Quest Navigators

While exploring Da’at, you will encounter a demon named Amanozako, who will accompany you in your travels. She will act as a guide and navigator on your journey, and support you as you explore Da’at– assisting by informing you if there are items nearby, and offering other helpful observations. It seems some demons besides Amanozako may also join you as navigators rather than allies in battle.


While exploring Da’at, you’ll receive requests and suggestions from various demons you encounter. Some may ask for items, while others may want you to defeat other demons. By completing these quests, you’ll receive valuable assets like items, Macca and EXP, so be sure to actively take them on.


Shin Megami Tensei V includes 3 different difficulty settings. You can switch between Casual (which allows for more laid-back gameplay) and Normal (recommended for those who still want a challenge) at any point in the game. Hard, which will be particularly dangerous and difficult, can only be selected when you start the game. Although you can switch from Hard to Casual or Normal at any point, once you do so, you won’t be able to return to Hard again, so be sure to select the playstyle that fits for you!

RPG Beginners! There will also be free DLC that adds a new difficulty setting Safety, made available at launch. With it, anyone can progress the story safely and comfortably. More DLC info will be released soon!

Shin Megami Tensei V launches for Switch on November 12. You can find the official website here.

Source: Atlus PR

Leave a Reply
Manage Cookie Settings