Submit a news tip

Nippon Ichi Software

Nippon Ichi Software has announced Disgaea 7 Complete will be releasing on Switch in Japan on July 25. The game will be a bundle release of Disgaea 7: Vows of the Virtueless and all currently existing downloadable content, and will also include a new bonus story, characters such as Asagi, and gameplay elements such as a Rakshasa Baal boss. These will also be available to purchase separately for those who already own the base game.

Disgaea 7 release in Japan last year on January 26, and was followed by a Western release on October 3. A Western release date for Disgaea 7 Complete has not been confirmed at this time, but seems likely.

Here’s an overview of the game, courtesy of Gematsu:

Bar Stella Abyss

Disgaea developer Nippon Ichi Software today unveiled Bar Stella Abyss as its latest game for Switch. In Japan, the title is due out on February 29, 2024.

Bar Stella Abyss is a roguelike strategy RPG in which players strengthen their party with the power of the constellations. The game has a dungeon to explore that changes form each time you play. As for the story, the protagonist ends up trapped in the “Drunken World” without their face and arm after falling asleep at a bar.

Disgaea 7: Vows of the Virtueless gameplay

NIS America just launched Disgaea 7: Vows of the Virtueless on Switch in the west, and if you’re interested in getting a closer look, we have gameplay from the final release. Over a half hour of footage has dropped.

Everything you need to know about the game can be found in the following overview:

Disgaea 7: Vows of the Virtueless launch trailer

To celebrate Disgaea 7: Vows of the Virtueless arriving in the west, NIS America issued a new launch trailer. It’s the company’s final video for the strategy RPG.

Here’s an official overview with more details:

Disgaea 7 review

System: Switch
Release date: October 3, 2023
Developer: Nippon Ichi Software
Publisher: NIS America

Disgaea games have always been a bit overwhelming. Their nonsensical plots, zany casts, and seemingly impenetrable walls of systems upon systems that have stats going into the millions and damage into the quadrillions can make them seem unapproachable to newcomers at the best of times. Disgaea 7: Vows of the Virtueless, the latest in the long-running series, shares the same foibles as its predecessors to varying degrees, but is by far the most accessible game in the series to date, and is an easy recommendation to make for anyone looking to sink their teeth into an experience that never takes itself too seriously but offers strategic depth easily on par with the best the genre has to offer.

Disgaea 7 demo

If you’re looking to get a taste of Disgaea 7: Vows of the Virtueless, you’ll be interested to hear that NIS America just put a demo for the game on Switch. It can be accessed on the official eShop page.

The demo, which is live in both North America and Europe, lets fans experience a slice of the game. All progress can be transferred to the full version.

If you’re a longtime fan of Disgea, you’ve probably had the upcoming entry in the series – Disgaea 7: Vows of the Virtueless – on your radar for some time now. It’s a series I’ve always been curious about, but my love for strategy RPGs is somewhat of a recent development, and so I’m still cutting my teeth on the genre as a whole. That’s exactly why I was eager to get a taste of this high-energy franchise at PAX West 2023, and while I only got to sample a small portion of the game, I’m already interested in playing more – if not a bit intimidated by the prospect of it.

Rhapsody Marl Kingdom Chronicles gameplay

NIS America brought Rhapsody: Marl Kingdom Chronicles to Switch this week, and we have a new round of gameplay. Rhapsody II: Ballad of the Little Princess and Rhapsody III: Memories of Marl Kingdom are both shown here.

Further information about the release can be found in the official overview below.

Rhapsody: Marl Kingdom Chronicles launch trailer

NIS America issued a launch trailer for Rhapsody: Marl Kingdom Chronicles, which just landed on Switch. The package includes Rhapsody II: Ballad of the Little Princess and Rhapsody III: Memories of Marl Kingdom, which are seeing their first English appearance.

We have more information in the following overview:

Disgaea 7 features

NIS America has shared yet another Disgaea 7: Vows of the Virtueless, this time introducing new features for the strategy RPG.

One of the new features is Jumbification that lets players grow fighters to massive proportions and dominate the battlefield. Hell Mode is also included. Disgaea 7: Vows of the Virtueless additionally has 45 character classes plus Item Reincarnation, Online Ranked Battles, and revamped Demonic Intelligence.

Manage Cookie Settings