Submit a news tip

Monster Hunter X

Hot on the heels of the Monster Hunter X announcement over the weekend, Famitsu shares more details about the new 3DS game in its latest issue.

Monster Hunter X features 14 weapon classes. Players will be able to choose from the Great Sword, Long Sword, Sword and Shield, Dual Blades, Lance, Gunlance, Hammer, Hunting Horn, Switch Axe, Charge Blade, Insect Glaive, Bow, Light Bowgun, and Heavy Bowgun.

Monster Hunter X will also include four main monsters, Famitsu states. Capcom is featuring a Brute Wyvern, a Flying Wyvern, a Leviathan, and a Fanged Beast.

Continuing on the topic of numbers, there are four Hunting Styles for all weapons, and you choose one of them. Here’s a breakdown of each:

Over on the official Monster Hunter X website, the project’s producer and director both left messages about the newly-announced 3DS game.

First, here’s what producer Shintaro Kojima wrote:

This is an unnumbered Monster Hunter. Monster Hunter is now in the 11th year, and for every new year there may be a possibility of seeing new hunts planned.

“Hunting” X “Exhilirating” X “Style” X ” Monster”

Despite the new challenges, please look forward to “Hunting Action” in “Monster Hunter Cross.”

Next up is director Yasunori Ichinose:

4Gamer has a report up from the Monster Hunter Gathering 2015 event, where Capcom announced Monster Hunter X for 3DS. You’ll find a few more tidbits from the game below courtesy of Siliconera’s translation.

– Developed with the concept of having your very own hunt that comes from the two features of “Hunting Maneuvers X Hunting Style”
– Main village is Verna Village
– Once again, the game will include various villages from past Monster Hunter titles, including Yukumo Village from Monster Hunter Portable 3rd
– The new unknown lands will have new monsters in addition to creatures that are said to be from primeval times
– Seems to have four flagship monsters
– Main attraction is flashy special moves/actions
– “Hunting Maneuvers”: special moves that range from being able to perform a powerful attack to a monster, to providing yourself with enhancements or buffs, and healing other nearby Hunters
– “Hunting Style”: turn moments of danger into stylish actions
– This feature plays a big part in letting players Hunt with their very own style
– Each of the main monsters will have their own unique characteristics and habits


Capcom prepared the first trailer for Monster Hunter X, which was just announced today. Check it out below.

Capcom has announced not one, but two brand new Monster Hunter games at today’s “Hunter’s Meeting” in Japan. In addition to Monster Hunter Diary Poka Poka Airou Village DX, the company has also revealed “Monster Hunter X” for 3DS.

Monster Hunter X is built on the same engine as Monster Hunter 4. It’ll feature flashy action and puts the focus on the hunter. Fans can expect new super actions for all weapons (much more than just a few new moves), new monsters, and more.

Capcom says there will be classes with special attacks that you can activate as an accent to the action. Villages from the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd generations will return. Beruna is base village, which is set at base of massive mountain range.

Monster Hunter X features four styles of playing to choose from. Each one changes the special moves you can perform. There is a focus on the personalization of your hunting style.

Monster Hunter X will offer an increase in the actions in both variation and number. The title’s concept is to take the action and make it stylish/varied enough so that everyone can find their own unique way of playing.

Capcom is including four flagship monsters in Monster Hunter X. In terms of areas, there will be new places to explore. New monsters are being included in the game as well. There will be a total of four main monsters, four villages, and four styles of play.

Monster Hunter X launches in Japan this winter.