Submit a news tip

Xenoblade Chronicles X

Xenoblade Chronicles X isn’t a direct followup to Xenoblade Chronicles. Rather, Nintendo has confirmed that the game acts as a spiritual successor with the two sharing some of the same philosophical notes. Nintendo’s Treehouse division shared the news during a live-stream of the game yesterday.


An additional bunch of Xenoblade Chronicles X details have been transcribed from Nintendo’s Treehouse demo. Find them after the break.

– At the beginning of Xenoblade Chronicles X, two alien factions are at war above Earth
– Unfortunately, their war is destroying Earth
– The human race then evacuates the Earth in two arc ships
– You wake up from stasis and create your character
– Nintendo showed a vast area surrounding a city called Neo Los Angeles
– A number of locations around this area featured the American flag painted on
– Game has a class system
– Start out with the Drifter class
– Access different abilities with different classes
– Day-and-night cycle included
– Real-time weather changes
– Enemy behavior changes from day to night
– Ex: predators come out to hunt at night
– Other creatures sleep at night


X has a final name and release window. It’s now known as “Xenoblade Chronicles X” and will launch next year – not this year. A new trailer is shown that we’ll post soon.