Submit a news tip



Nintendo

Nintendo has confirmed via Twitter that the upcoming epilogue featured in Xenoblade Chronicles: Definitive Edition, Future Connected, is set one year after the events of the main game.

Future Connected is a brand new story featuring Shulk and Melia, but no specifics of the epilogue have been shared yet. It was previously revealed that it can be accessed at any point during Xenoblade Chronicles: Definitive Edition.

Xenoblade Chronicles: Definitive Edition releases May 29th 2020.

Source

As part of a recent article published by Fortune on the future of Nintendo and the Switch, they report on some comments made by Doug Bowser that Nintendo is “closely watching” streaming technology moving forward.

Additionally, Bowser also comments that the Switch already “delivers on a lot of the promises of streaming”, citing the console’s handheld capabilities. The full quote can be read below.

The Switch delivers on a lot of the promises [of streaming], it’s a device where you can play anywhere, at any time, with anyone. It’s obviously something that we’re closely watching, and looking at, and understanding.

Source

Looks like Nintendo is looking to hire a new level designer for The Legend of Zelda. It seems they will be designing events, dungeons, fields and enemies. It’s good to know more Zelda is coming from Nintendo.

Source

In March, Nintendo filed a US patent along with Ambrella and The Pokemon Company for “Information Processing Apparatus, Information Processing System, Information Processing Method and Recording Medium”. The filing was only just made public today.

That application title may sound confusing, but it’s ultimately for a handheld device incorporating NFC/RFID figures and IC cards (smart cards). As you would expect, the device focuses on Pokemon and gaming.

How exactly this patent will be used is currently unknown. For all we know, it could just be a filing that will never be used. Only time will tell…

Source

It looks like some maintenance will be coming to online services on 3DS and Wii U systems later this week. Over on neoGAF it was pointed out that this type of extended maintenance often occurs before system updates. In any case, here is the schedule for the downtime:

– Wii U and 3DS (online play, leaderboards, etc…) on Tuesday, August 5:

a) Europe : 2AM to 4AM
b) UK : 1AM to3AM
c) USA (East Coast) : 8PM to 10PM (Monday)
d) USA (West Coast) : 5PM to 7PM (Monday)
e) Japan : 9AM to 11AM

Additionally, Steel Diver: Sub Wars will get the same treatment the following day:

– Steel Diver : Sub Wars (3DS – online play, leaderboards, etc…) on Wednesday, August 6:

a) Europe : 2.50AM to 4AM
b) UK : 1.50AM to3AM
c) USA (East Coast) : 8.50PM to 10PM (Monday)
d) USA (West Coast) : 5.50PM to 7PM (Monday)
e) Japan : 9.50AM to 11AM

Source

Nintendo’s financials for Q1 2014 have been released (that is, for April – June), here are a look at some of the highlights to come out of that press release:

  • Revenue: 74.70B yen (-8.4% year over year)
  • Opt income: -9.47B yen
  • Net income: -9.92B yen

Hardware + Software Sales

  • Wii U unit sales (hardware): 0.51 million
    Financial year – 0.40 million
    Lifetime to date – 6.68 million
  • Wii U unit sales (software): 4.39 million
    Financial year – 4.39 million
    Lifetime to date – 36.67 million
    * Mario Kart 8 sold 2.82 million copies worldwide in its first month on sale.
  • 3DS unit sales (hardware): 0.82 million
    Financial year – 0.82 million
    Lifetime to date – 44.14 million
  • 3DS unit sales (software): 8.57 million
    Financial year – 8.57 million
    Lifetime to date – 171.49 million
  • Wii unit sales (hardware): 0.09 million
    Financial year: 0.09 million
    Lifetime to date: 101.15 million
  • Wii unit sales (software): 1.60 million
    Financial year: 1.60 million
    Lifetime to date: 896.82 million
  • DS unit sales (hardware): 0.06 million
    Financial year: 0.13 million
    Lifetime to date: 153.99 million
  • DS unit sales (software): 2.15 million
  • Financial year: 10.29 million
    Lifetime to date: 938.93 million

Financial Year 2014/2015 Forecast

  • 3DS hardware – 12 million
    3DS software – 67 million
  • Wii U hardware – 3.6 million
    Wii U software – 20 million
  • Wii hardware – 0.5 million
    Wii software – 9 million

For a look at how these numbers compare to previous quarters, check out this thread

A new Nintendo 2DS bundle has just been revealed by the Nintendo Europe Twitter account.

This bundle includes a red and white 2DS console along with a special copy of New Super Mario Bros. 2 which includes all 30 Coin Rush challenges. The challenges were originally released for the game as DLC.

The bundle will be released in Europe on the 4th of July.

Source

Nintendo has published some extra information pertaining to the company’s latest financial results. We have an official updated million sellers list and release schedule. At least we know Brain Training’s 3DS outing is still heading to Europe!

Source